Open Sub Menu

About Cyprus

Geographical Information about Cyprus :

Capital city: Nicosia
Population: 1,141,166
Total Area: 9,251 km2
Language Spoken: Greek, Turkish
Currency: EURO (EUR)
Neighbour Countries: Greece (Schengen), Turkey

Cyprus is an island in the Mediterranean Sea, south of Turkey. After  Sicily and Sardinia, Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea. Although the island is geographically in Asia it is politically a European country and is a member of the European Union. Cyprus gained its independence from the United Kingdom in 1960.Cyprus is the third largest and third most populous island in the Mediterranean, and a member state of the European Union.

Cyprus is a major tourist destination in the Mediterranean. With an advanced, high-income economy and a very high Human Development Index, the Republic of Cyprus is a member of the Commonwealth since 1961 and was a founding member of the Non-Aligned Movement until it joined the European Union on 1 May 2004. On 1 January 2008, the Republic of Cyprus joined the < href="">Euro zone.